Diversity Committee Information

The Psychological Sciences Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) committee was established in 2020 and consists of faculty members and graduate students in the Department of Psychological Sciences at Rice University. The committee’s purpose is to ensure that the department actively enact and maintain anti-racist policies and practices.

Current DEI Committee faculty members include:

  • Dr. Jing Chen
  • Dr. Luz Garcini
  • Dr. Mikki Hebl
  • Dr. Danielle King
  • Dr. Stephanie Leal
  • Dr. Chase Lesane-Brown

Current DEI Committee graduate student representatives include:

  • Maha Khalid
  • Fernanda Morales Calva
  • Myriam Oliver

If you would like to get involved in the DEI Committee, please contact Dr. Mikki Hebl at hebl@rice.edu. All graduate student representatives are nominated and elected at the end of each academic school year.

What are the current goals of the committee? (Updated August 2023)

  • Create a DEI-related journal club
  • Create meeting opportunities and a safe space for historically marginalized individuals
  • Create listening spaces for everyone to be heard
  • Increase accessibility to research opportunities for greater-Houston-area undergraduate students
  • Clarify the process involved in managing DEI concerns and incidents
  • Incorporate DEI into new courses within the Psychological Sciences Department