Undergraduate Committee

In order to maintain Rice University’s social distancing guidelines, all advisor meetings will be held via Zoom for the Fall 2020 semester. Office hours for each advisor are below. Please email the advisor you wish to meet with to schedule an appointment.

Özge Gürcanlı, Ph.D.
General Advising
Sewall Hall 482, x4764
Office Hours: Wednesdays, 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Danielle King, Ph.D.
Undergraduate Research Liaison to Medical Center
Sewall Hall 429C, x4458
Office Hours: No set hours, appointment only

Eden King, Ph.D.
Honors Thesis
Sewall Hall 429D, x3910
Office Hours: Thursdays, 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Phil Kortum, Ph.D.
Undergraduate Committee Chair
Transfer of Credit

Sewall Hall 488, x4813
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 2:00PM - 3:00PM or by appointment

Sandy Parsons, Ph.D.
Declaration of Major
Psi Chi
Sewall Hall 452
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 1:00PM - 2:00PM

Carissa Zimmerman, Ph.D.
Declaration of Major
Psi Chi
Sewall Hall 472
Office Hours: Wednesdays, 3:30PM - 4:30PM

Students should contact the appropriate advisor for the special topic s/he is responsible for.

Students can also meet with any of the above advisors to discuss:

  1. the courses before s/he issues you a PIN Release form,
  2. the procedures for an independent project/thesis, or
  3. any general topic about the program.

Advisors’ office hours will be updated at the beginning of each semester.