Diversity Committee Information

The Psychological Sciences Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) committee was established in 2020 and consists of faculty members and graduate students in the Department of Psychological Sciences at Rice University. The committee’s purpose is to ensure that the department actively enact and maintain anti-racist policies and practices.

Current DEI Committee faculty members include:

  • Dr. Eden King
  • Dr. Chase Lesane-Brown
  • Dr. Danielle King
  • Dr. David Lane
  • Dr. Mikki Hebl
  • Dr. Simon Fischer-Baum

Current DEI Committee graduate student representatives include:

  • Roslyn Shanklin
  • Ryan Brown
  • Cassandra Phetmisy
  • Shannon Cheng

If you would like to get involved in the DEI Committee, please contact Dr. Eden King at eden.b.king@rice.edu. All graduate student representatives are nominated and elected at the end of each academic school year.

What are the current goals of the committee? (Updated May 2021)

  • Increase accessibility to research opportunities for greater-Houston-area undergraduate students
  • Clarify the processes involved in managing DE&I concerns and incidents
  • Incorporate DE&I into new courses within the Psychological Sciences department

Past Reports (if available):